Financial Aid


Scholarships are merit-based forms of financial funding that are awarded to students based upon their personal qualities and achievements.

Some examples include:

  • High standardized test scores.
  • High grade point average (GPA).
  • Excellence in a particular academic field of study.
  • Sports and athletics.
  • Certain extracurricular activities, including community service and leadership.
  • Ethnic background or religious affiliation.
  • Other qualities as determined by the organization awarding the scholarship.

Organizations that may award scholarships include:

  • The school that the student attends.
  • Non-profit organizations and scholarship funds that support educational initiatives.
  • Private organizations.
  • Some employers.

Scholarships are highly coveted by both students and parents, and are considered to be the most prestigious form of college funding, as they’re generally awarded in recognition of a student’s strong personal qualities. In order to remain eligible for a scholarship, a student must often be attending school full-time and must meet a minimum GPA requirement. Scholarships usually remain available for eight total semesters, giving the student four years to complete their degree.

When accepting a scholarship always confirm the following:

  • Renewal requirements, like the minimum GPA or credit completion rate.
  • How many semesters can the scholarship extend? Would the scholarship fund a ninth or tenth semester if necessary?

Follow us on Facebook to get inside tips, helpful guidance, and valuable insights about loan consolidation, student loan refinance (aka “refi”), or how to apply for new student loans!

Think our info about student loans is interesting, useful, or shareable?  Tweet it!